DeKalb School Board Race Heats Up

Incumbents Paul Womack and Don McChesney face challengers as candidates qualified Thursday. Filing ends noon Friday.

Paul Womack and Don McChesney will face challengers for their seats on the DeKalb Board of Education.

According to a qualifying list from DeKalb County elections, McChesney will face Marshall Orson in District 2.

Candidates had until noon Friday to become eligible for the nonpartisan ballot.

Incumbent Paul Womack faces a crowded field. Tom Gilbert, Jim Kinney and James McMahan had qualified for the District 4 race by Thursday.

In District 6, Melvin Johnson, Denise McGill, Terrilyn Rivers-Cannon and Latasha Walker have qualified for the ballot. Incumbent Tom Bowen is not running.

Meanwhile, incumbent Pam Speaks will face Michelle Jenkins-Clark for the District 8 seat.

Dunwoody's representative, Nancy Jester,  isn't up for election this cycle.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »